Progressive Music Awards 2014 Blog

For the third successive year Orange Amplification proudly presented the Progressive Music Awards on Thursday 11th September 2014, at the suitably theatrical Underglobe venue situated below Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre.


The night saw former Genesis front man, Peter Gabriel presented with the Orange Amplification sponsored Prog God award by comedian Bill Bailey.  The award was made for his original and innovative contributions to the world of prog rock.  Jerry Ewing, Prog Editor summed it all up when he said ‘it really is an honour to pay tribute to Peter in this way’.


Once again hosted by veteran broadcaster Gavin Esler, this glittering occasion was the pinnacle of this year’s Prog world gatherings with many of the industry’s best-known musicians taking part. Andy Latimer, founder member of Camel was presented with the Life Time Achievement Award and Rick Wakeman’s 40th anniversary tour of Journey To The Centre Of The Earth was voted best Live Event.


Super group Transatlantic, nominated in four categories and winners of Album Of The Year played an exclusive live set featuring Neal Morse and Roine Stolt using Orange Amps onstage together with bassist Pete Trewavas.


Celebrating one of the most unsung genres of music, The Progressive Music Awards have received both critical and public acclaim in their short history.  The awards honoured talent, old and new, from a progressive force that is flourishing in the modern musical world. Joining Cliff Cooper. Orange Amplification CEO on the main sponsors table were Mike Weatherley, MP, founder of Rock The House and Paul McManus, Chief Executive of the Music Industry Association and founder of National Learn To Play Day.


The awards were presented by a string of celebrities and prog fans including Team Rock Radio Presenter, Phil Wilding, Threshold lead singer, Damian Wilson, and Marillion guitarist, Steve Rothery. Guests included author Ian Rankin, and snooker champion and Prog columnist Steve Davis.

The winners announced on the night were:

Album Of The Year Transatlantic

Limelight Messenger

Breakthrough Syd Arthur

Live Event Rick Wakeman, Journey To The Centre Of The Earth 40th Anniversary Tour

Anthem Anathema, Anathema

Band Of The Year Dream Theater

The Storm Thorgerson Grand Design Award Fish, A feast Of Consequences Box Set

Virtuoso Arjen Lucassen

Guiding Light Sonja Kristina

Visionary Robert John Godfrey

Lifetime Achievement Andrew Latimer

Prog God Peter Gabriel

By Dave Phillips, Orange Amplification PR

Photo’s by David Phillips